A Reminder that Life is Short

I wanted to write this blog to pay respect to one of life’s greatest inventor and also for a selfish reason of hoping that it will make me feel better.  After all, I have written in the past where blogging is good therapy.

Last night after hearing of Steve Jobs’ death, I went to bed feeling melancholy.  Waking up this morning, despite the beautiful, crisp, autumn morning we’re having here in the Midwest, I’m still feeling sad.  I didn’t know Steve Jobs personally of course, but he has touched my life.  Gosh, every where I look around me, I have all his creations.  It’s a reminder to many that he was an inventor of great things.  He had an idea, he was committed, he created and he left us a legacy.

Life truly is short.  Cherish it.  Spend time with your loved ones.  Don’t put off important things.  For tomorrow may be too late.

I love this quote that Steve Jobs said in 2005 to Stanford graduates –

“Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything–all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure–these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important.”

RIP Steve Jobs, you will be missed by many.

17 responses to “A Reminder that Life is Short

  1. Truly of the most amazing men of a generation. His legacy will be that he left a ding in the universe and has change the world in ways that will be felt for many generations to come. Thank you for this post, Jocelyn.

  2. Thank you Jennifer. It’s amazing that a person can have such great impact to the world. Goes to show you that anyone, given the imagination and determination, can do great things!

    Take care Jennifer. Glad to have you in my life.

  3. Hi Jocelyn,
    Even though I was saddened by his death yesterday it was amazing to think of the legacy Steve Jobs left.. After seeing the outpouring of tributes last night and today I now feel more inspired to live up to the messages about success he’s been giving us through out his life.
    Sherrie

  4. I watched the video of his Stanford commencement address on CNN this morning and it was so beautiful! I didn’t know any of his birth history until then and that just made his life story all that more interesting, Amazing man!

    • Did that not make you cry? It did me. He was an amazing man. No matter what life gave him, he let nothing stand his way. A true sign of a very successful man. We can all learn a great deal from his life examples.

      Thank you for your comment.
      Jocelyn

  5. I’m old enough to remeber the world as it was before him. I’m old enough to have sticked in my memory all of the items he invented and inspired for us. I’m old enough to have the chance to have met him once in Cupertino in 1986. That really stick in my memory: a great man so easy to be with. Thanks Jocelyn for this memory.

    • What a fortunate experience that must have been for you to have met him. I’m jealous. You should tell me more stories about how it was meeting him.

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing your feelings Fabriziio!

      Jocelyn

  6. The reality of his death still has to sink in for me, I cannot believe he is gone. I feel there is a big whole left in the universe by his departure.

  7. Jocelyn,

    Nice tribute!

    I feel privileged to have been in the same session with Guy Kawasaki with you, and that we shared these moments.

    It was a melancholy evening. But someone reminded me that we will still see Steve — His influence will likely live on for some time to come.

    Thank you for your thoughts, my friend!

    ~Keri

    • Thank you Keri,

      That was such a surreal evening for me. I couldn’t understand what was going on at the time, since I got in later and missed the first 5 minutes of the session. I was on actually at about 10 minutes before listening to the music then I got bumped off. My screen changed with Steven Jobs face on it and the date 1955-2011. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Kept trying to get back on the session and when I got in Guy Kawasaki was talking about how he had worked for MacIntosh and knew Steve. That was a very, very sad, moment. And yes, glad that I was there with you to experience all that. I like your words…..”that we will still see Steve”…..thanks for the reminder. ❤

      Hugs,
      Jocelyn

  8. Unfortunately I never had the opportunity to meet Mr. Jobs in person and actually manage to snag a few seconds of his time for conversation. However, that was certainly one on my bucket list. I too was sad upon hearing of his loss. As an artist in today’s industry I am grateful to Mr. Jobs for having the courage to be the renegade our times; for without him…my career would not be possible today.

    • Hi Quintius,

      Thank you for your comment. I still can’t believe he’s gone. He’s inspired many of us. It saddens me to think that a man with such talent is no longer with us. He will be forever missed.

      Jocelyn

  9. This was beautiful Tribute and an awesome reminder of the shortness of our time here on earth Jocelyn! There’s so many lessons that we can learn from the sudden lost of life; there lies a lesson in them all. I admire that Steve Jobs left his legacy and embraced that one day his time too will be over. That’s the greatest lesson to me from his life. That I embrace that my days are numbered and whatever I can do while I’m here to be steadfast and focused on making every effort to get it done. Wonderful post Jocelyn. Thank you for sharing your feelings with us.

    • Hi Deeone,

      Someone told me this one day, “This is your life and it’s ending one minute at a time…..live to the fullest!!!!” I thought it was a somewhat glass is half empty kind of outlook, but it is very true! If we all lived knowing that, we wouldn’t take so many things for granted. We all should live every minute to the fullest. I admire Steve Jobs outlook on life and death and his courage through it all. It’s been one week since his passing and I still get teary eyed.

      Thanks for stopping by Deeone!
      Jocelyn

  10. Pingback: Life is a Song of Growth!

Leave a Reply

